Volunteering FAQ


What volunteer opportunities are available?

Many volunteers want to tutor a student one-on-one. We also have volunteer opportunities to assist in the computer lab or in a small group class or the office.

Who are adult learners?

Adult students who attend classes at Learn to Read are over the age of 16, represent all races and genders, and come from all economic and social backgrounds. They may have completed high school or left before graduation, but they did not acquire the literacy and comprehension skills they need to be successful.

Where will I get the training and teaching materials?

Learn to Read provides all volunteers with 10 hours of free training. Additional training and professional development opportunities are made available throughout the year at no cost to you to enrich your skills. A wide variety of teaching materials is available in our office for your use.

What is the time commitment involved?

We suggest that a tutor meet with their adult learner at least once or twice a week for 1 – 1½ hours per session. Maintaining this time commitment is important in helping the student acquire his/her skills as quickly as possible. We ask tutors to consider making a commitment for at least 6 months.

How will I be matched with an adult learner?

Once you have completed your training, a Learn to Read staff member will either contact you as soon as we have an adult learner who matches your preferences and availability or send you a link to the Current LTR Tutor Requests, so that you can find a student that matches your preferences and availability. Then, we help you connect with that student for your first meeting. Most tutors are able to get started within a few weeks of completing tutor training.

Do I need to speak a language other than English to tutor?

No. All textbooks and materials are in English, and you are teaching English language skills. The majority of adult learners served by Learn to Read are native speakers of English.

Where do our lessons take place?

In public locations, such as libraries, churches, community centers, schools, and business places.

How do I get started?

Please complete the Online Tutor Registration Form available on this site, and we will promptly send you an email with the next steps. You may also contact our office at 904-238-9000, or email any inquiries to learntoreadvolunteers.jax@gmail.com. Volunteers are required to attend a Volunteer Information Session, complete on-line and in-person volunteer training, and successfully complete a background check. We discuss the requirements in detail and answer any questions at a Volunteer Information Session.

When can I attend a Volunteer Information Session?

The 2019 Volunteer Information Sessions are held in the Learn to Read office located in the duPont Center at 40 E. Adams St, Room LL-30. The Information Session is about one hour.

  • Wednesday, April 10@5:30 pm
  • Friday, April 26 @2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, May 8 @5:30 pm
  • Friday, May 17 @2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, June 12 @5:30 pm
  • Friday, June 21 @2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, July 10 @ 5:30 pm
  • Friday, July 26 @2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, August 14 @ 5:30 pm
  • Friday, August 23 @2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, September 11 @ 5:30 pm
  • Friday, September 27 @2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, October 9 @ 5:30 pm
  • Friday, October 25 @2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, November 13@ 5:30 pm
  • Friday, December 6 @2:00 pm

*Note: Please contact Learn to Read at 904-238-9000 to confirm the schedule.

When can I attend Volunteer Training?

The 2019 Volunteer Training Sessions are held in the Learn to Read office located in the duPont Center at 40 E. Adams St, Room LL-39. The Training Session is 4 hours.

  • Saturday, April 13 @ 10:00 am
  • Saturday, May 11 @ 10:00 am
  • Saturday, June 15 @ 10:00 am
  • Saturday, July 20 @ 10:00 am
  • Saturday, August 24@ 10:00 am
  • Saturday, September 21 @ 10:00 am
  • Saturday, October 19 @ 10:00 am
  • Saturday, November 16 @10:00 am

*Note: Please contact Learn to Read at 904-238-9000 to confirm the schedule.